Sunday, October 19, 2008

Sore and Relieved

My lower body is sore.

OH yeah, you know what I was doing all day and night yesterday, bomchickaWAW-WAW.

That's right. I went HIKING. haha!

So if you ever wanted to see a group of 20 Asians trek through the California wilderness, then go bungee jumping, you should have probably come to Arcadia, CA yesterday. I was a part of that ragtag group of assorted Asians (plus 3 white folks who are essentially Asian anyway). Well, I didn't jump, but I definitely hiked. I don't even have to tell you that though cuz my legs will, for sure. Anyway, it was a long 5 mi in and an even longer 5 mi out of the canyon.

The dry, barren, brush-laden landscape lent itself to dehydration and heatstroke but it was a good thing I had water. The point being, really, it's nothing like the tropical landscape covered hikes at home. I was slightly disappointed with how the scenery looked with the lack of trees while hiking into the canyon, but I must say, while hiking out with the sun setting, everything looked entirely different. The true colors of the canyon came out. All of the colors seemed far more pronounced, yet pleasantly muted, in true desert landscape fashion. The hike was fairly easy, just long and hot. So yeah, it was great.

Watching the bungee jumping was probably the best part of the day. I mean, really, who doesn't enjoy watching their friends simulate suicide with form, style, and multiple expletives which I'd rather not write here? I definitely do. I've got pictures, but I'll post them later.

Don't ask me why I didn't jump. The answer is far too simple and frankly disappointing. Yes, I think you know why.

The relief part came when I got home and checked my messages on the archaic social networking website otherwise known as Myspace. (Yes, archaic even though it's not even been around for more than 10 yrs.) Let's just say, my curiosity has been allayed.

Anway, it was a good Saturday, however, the aftermath is making my Sunday barely walkable.

Saturday, October 18, 2008

Mumbo Jumbo

I've got this hike tomorrow and I really can't sleep. My insomnia is due in part to the fact that I slept this afternoon, but for some reason there's a lot going through my head.

Sometimes I wonder how I'm viewed in the eyes of my former love interests or even people in general. I wonder if I'm just kind of a serial number-- a meaningless digit in a long chain of numbers that were other love interests or seasons of life that can be selected and erased.

That's definitely not the case for me. I have a distinct emotion for each of the people I've been with. Nostalgia, regret coupled with curiosity, and huge resentment, respectively. These are watermarks, not serial numbers.

Anyway, this is all mumbo jumbo here... I wish I could sleep.

BTW, I'm getting better at Halo every day thanks to Jon. I really don't know if I should be proud. haha. I've been practicing singing a lot as well being that I don't have my electric. I love my Takamine. It's great! I miss the Tele though... so sad.

Sunday, October 12, 2008

Teri Beef!

I've decided that my favorite room in my house next to my bedroom is definitely the kitchen. I spend a good few hours in there every day. It's great! I love food. I just don't like cleaning...

So anyway, this is what I had for dinner tonight. Recipe compliments of Jon, my house mate. Teriyaki beef folks. Feast your eyes on that!












Aside from food, I spent my day shopping for various necessities like a lamp, food, candle (I like my space smelling nice), etc. Now it's time to do some homework... Gosh, I'm so lazy.

Saturday, October 11, 2008

The Past could have been The Present

ahhh yet another fruitless day. well in terms of getting homework done or doing anything worth talking about.

if you get a chance however, take a look at some of my new work on myspace.
www.myspace.com/p1r0

so have you ever had an ex that got married?

i do. it's weird. i don't know what to make of it. i don't care as much as i had before, but i'd be lying if i said i didn't care at all. i guess it's the thought that had we not split up that could be me. i don't know if i should be relieved or sad. i think if i was still with her, i wouldn't be here following my dream to become a graphic designer. however, in the case that i were still with her, i'd probably be happy, just in a different way. i would not have experienced the heartbreak that i did since we broke up not just with her, but with my other relationships that ended. i'd have a completely different perpective on life.

well, i've come to like how my life is going right now so i guess i'll never know.

ignorance is bliss i guess, but sometimes i get curious.

sometimes i can't decide what would be more ideal: to find someone new who is completely amazing and blows my mind, or to rekindle an old flame. however, at this point, both options are hypothetical so i guess we'll see what happens.

Monday, October 6, 2008

Pointless.

I'm supposed to be writing an essay/report about water. ERGH.

The sense of distraction is so utterly powerful. It's like a magnetic force that repels me completely from opening up Word and just starting that damn essay. Must... Write... Essay...

In other news:
I am poor and if you'd like to donate to the poor art student fund, please email me at: jacobwong@lagunacollege.edu. Please help yourself by helping me. (I know that doesn't say much but just roll with me here)
My legs are not too sore anymore. 35 miles of biking anyone?!

Is coffee at 10:15 a good idea? I guess I'm under the assumption that I'll be staying up to work on crap... I may be wrong.

OK, enough rambling. I'm stalling until I get something substantial to write about but nothing is coming into my head. Have a good day folks.

-Edit-

Here are some thoughts that came across my head when thinking about old relationships and a variety of other things...

So do you ever have this unsettling feeling in the back of your head where you feel like something about your life is not right? Then you think really hard about what it might be...

... And you remember. What was it?

A relationship?
Something you said to someone?
Some circumstance that occurred that was completely out of your control?

You feel disturbed and almost offended that someone or something screwed with your life. You think, "THIS is what I would have been," or "THIS is what could be if YOU didn't happen," etc.

Sometimes this divergence occurs as a direct consequence of someone's actions, and sometimes it just happens as a result of a series of different incoherent coincidences. Either way, you're still disturbed to a certain degree.

Though we remember the more disturbing examples of this kind of intervention of fate, perhaps we forget that all that every single individual has become is a result of it. This divergence and intervention is what life is made of and defines every individual.

We all have this idea of what our lives would or should look like-- we have expectations.

Don't have expectations. Have goals. There's a difference because when you have expectations, you feel like life owes you something. It doesn't and you'll be sorely disappointed and very bitter. When you have goals, you go and try to get it never assuming but always believing that you'll achieve them.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

FRIDAY FRENZYY

so yesterday, i rode my bike.

i don't mean a little mosey in a park or anything like that... i biked a full 32 miles. that's right, you heard me. 32 miles.

despite soreness in my left calf and in some other areas i'd rather not mention, along with some mild psychological damage, it was a load of fun. initially, i expected the ride to be something like 10-20 miles tops, (which is still a challenge for me...) but no, we kept on going... and going...

now do understand that while 32 miles is nothing for some people, it was a huge accomplishment for me being that the longest i've ever ridden at one time was 3 miles. so yeah, pretty big deal.

the people i biked with were a really upbeat and interesting rag-tag group of UCI students. for example, there was chuck, our fearless leader who can and will, if prompted, make some pretty convincing car sounds and ride any distance on a unicycle.

so i'd recommend a ride like this if:
1. you have a few loose screws
2. have massive calves and quads (or would like to have some)
3. you are crazy
4. you enjoy meeting fun people
5. you like getting cramps
6. or all of the above all at once

and in case you were wondering, here's a map of the route!

Thursday, October 2, 2008

Introduction

So I decided to start blogging seriously once again, and honestly, I don't know about what. I just read so many blogs that I figure I may as well join. So here I am.

In case you're wondering about me, I design, I illustrate, I take photos of cool stuffs, and I play music. Well, apparently, now I write blogs. WHADDYAKNOW!? Alright, there we have it. ^_^